Here’s something new…

Editor’s Note:  

Since my father’s death, I have been the keeper of some of his sermons and other assorted papers.  At various times I have given thought to what to do with them.  I could donate them to the seminary from which he graduated (Calvin) but I can’t help but think about the last scene in “Raiders of the Lost Ark” where the ark of the covenant is filed in a large warehouse.  Then I thought about somehow creating a daily devotional.  After all, he already did a month’s work himself a number of years ago with “Our Daily Bread.”  But a daily entry seemed both restrictive and daunting.  It was then that my wife pointed out a former pastor’s blog and the light went on.  That would make the perfect format.  I can post as often as I want (I hope to do so weekly) without too many restrictions on space and on various topics.  It also is accessible to many people and is available for feedback (hopefully positive).

As to the title, it is taken from one of his “homemade” benedictions…”Know Who You Are, Be What He Made You.”  The content of the blog is essentially his.  I may employ the power of editing now and again.  In addition to being taken from his sermons, I will also post letters that were placed in my lunches during my adolescent summer jobs.  Often these took the form of what he might call “semonettes,” of which I and my brothers were the beneficieries.

I hope you enjoy these posts, but most of all, I hope you are blessed by them.

Leave a Reply

